Guide
How often should you use an LED face mask?
Every manufacturer in this category says three to five times a week, not daily. Here is what each protocol specifies, and the reason the frequency question matters more than the specification question.
By Selena H. · Published October 13, 2026

Illustrative photograph, not a picture of a specific device.
Adherence is the dominant variable in whether an LED mask does anything. It is more important than diode count, more important than the third wavelength, and more important than which brand you chose. A good mask used twice loses to a modest mask used four times a week for two months.
The protocols
What each manufacturer actually specifies
| Mask | Session length | Frequency | Initial phase |
|---|---|---|---|
| Omnilux Contour Face | Not published | 3-5 times a week | 4-6 weeks, then maintenance |
| CurrentBody Series 2 | 10 minutes | 3-5 times a week | Not separately specified |
| CurrentBody Series 3 | 10 minutes | 3-5 times a week | Not separately specified |
| Dr. Dennis Gross FaceWare Pro | 3 minutes, auto shut-off | Not published | Not published |
| Shark CryoGlow | 4-6 minutes by routine | Not published | Not published |
| Therabody TheraFace Mask | 3-9 minutes | Not published | Not published |
Notice the blanks. Omnilux publishes a frequency and an initial phase but no session length. Dr. Dennis Gross publishes a session length but no frequency. Only CurrentBody publishes both. For devices sold on a protocol, that is a striking inconsistency across the category.
The dose question
Why not daily?
The honest answer is that manufacturers do not publish their reasoning, so we are inferring from the literature rather than quoting them.
Photobiomodulation is widely described as having a biphasic dose response: below a threshold nothing happens, and above an optimum the effect can diminish rather than continue to increase. If that holds at consumer irradiances, more frequent sessions are not automatically better, and a three-to-five-a-week rhythm leaves recovery time between doses.
What we can say firmly: no manufacturer in this category recommends daily use, and following the manufacturer's protocol is the only defensible basis for a schedule. Why dose is the governing variable.
Three minutes versus ten
Session length is an adherence feature
A three-minute cycle and a ten-minute cycle are not just different doses, they are different behavioral propositions. Three minutes fits between brushing your teeth and going to bed. Ten minutes requires deciding to spend ten minutes.
If you have previously bought a skincare device and stopped using it, weight session length more heavily than the spec sheet suggests. The caveat, which we repeat because it matters: a shorter session at an unpublished irradiance is a smaller dose of an unknown quantity. The FaceWare Pro review works through that trade.
After the first six weeks
What maintenance actually means
Omnilux is the clearest here: three to five sessions a week for four to six weeks, then continue with routine maintenance treatments as desired. The others are vaguer, but the shape is the same across the category.
Read that honestly and it says: this is indefinite. There is no completion point, no course you finish. Stop and whatever cumulative effect existed fades, on a timescale nobody publishes. Budget your time accordingly before you buy, because the real cost of these devices is measured in evenings.
Practical
Getting the most out of each session
- Clean, dry, bare skin. Makeup, sunscreen and even some serums absorb or scatter light before it reaches the skin. This is the most commonly skipped step and the most costly.
- Treat after, not before. Most manufacturers advise against applying actives immediately before a session, particularly retinoids, which increase photosensitivity.
- Make contact. A mask held off the skin by a hair tie, a pillow or a beard is delivering less light where it stands off.
- Wipe it down every time. Especially if you have acne-prone skin. A silicone surface that touches your face and then sits in a drawer is a hygiene problem.
- Keep the schedule rather than the length. Four short sessions beat one long one, every time.
- Give it the full initial phase before judging. Six weeks, then decide.
Safety
Can you overdo it?
Nothing in this category is described as dangerous at consumer intensities, and we are not going to invent a risk. Two real considerations though: masks warm the skin, and heat is a trigger for rosacea and can aggravate melasma; and the biphasic dose response means more is not reliably better. Eye safety is a separate question and has its own guide.
Following the manufacturer's protocol is both the cautious choice and the only one with any documentation behind it.
FAQ
Questions people actually ask
Can you use an LED face mask every day?
How long should an LED mask session be?
What happens if you stop using an LED mask?
Should you use an LED mask on clean skin?
Is more time better with an LED mask?
Sources
Where this page’s facts come from
Read next
Keep going
- Do LED face masks actually work?
An honest assessment: a real mechanism, decent clinic evidence, and a home-device literature thinner than the marketing suggests.
- Irradiance and dose: the specification that decides everything
What mW/cm2 means, how dose is calculated, and why almost no mask manufacturer will publish the figure.
- The best LED face masks, ranked on what you can actually verify
Nine masks ranked on wavelengths, diode counts, brand-stated irradiance and located FDA clearance numbers.
- LED masks and your eyes: what to check before you buy
Eye cut-outs, closed-eye protocols, blue light near the orbit, and the extra scrutiny laser-marketed devices need.
- Device layering: the order to use everything in
The full sequence for prep tools, treatment devices and skincare, plus the combinations that need separate days.